Comparison
Boulevard vs Mangomint
Verified pricing and capability, read from each vendor's own published material. We do not score these out of ten — the right answer depends on whether you chart treatments and how your team is shaped.
| Criterion | Boulevard Hybrid | Mangomint Hybrid |
|---|---|---|
| Published price | $140/mo | $165/mo |
| Entry tier | Essentials | Essentials |
| Billing basis | per location, annual billing | flat per location |
| One-time setup fee | None published | None published |
| Free trial | not stated on pricing page; demo request is the only CTA | yes — free trial account with demo data; length not stated on pricing page |
| Named tiers | Essentials, Premier, Prestige, Enterprise | Essentials, Standard, Unlimited |
| Target segment | single-location to multi-location salon-spa and med spa; leans premium salon/spa with clinical add-ons | single-location to small multi-location salon-spa and med spa; strongest fit 2-20 providers |
| Payment processing | Not published | In-person 2.45% + 15¢; virtual/online 2.90% + 30¢; custom rates available above $50k/month volume |
What the numbers actually say
Read before you compare the headline prices
Each point below is computed from the published figures in the table above, for this pair specifically. Where the data does not support a conclusion, we say so rather than filling the space.
The gap between these two never changes
Both bill per location, so the ratio holds at any size: Mangomint is 18% more than Boulevard whether you run one location or ten. At three locations that is $420 against $495 a month. Growth will not change which one is cheaper — only a tier change or an add-on will.
Boulevard's $140 is a promotional rate
The standard published price is $176/mo — 26% higher. At the standard rate Boulevard is no longer the cheaper of these two; Mangomint at $165/mo is. Ask what happens at renewal before you compare these on the promotional number.
Clinical capability
What each one does in the treatment room
Boulevard
Hybrid. Core product is booking/POS/CRM, but genuine clinical capability is available as paid add-ons: ePrescribe with "EPCS-compliant support for controlled or non-controlled prescriptions" ($45/prescriber) and Forms/charting (from $65/location). SOAP-note-grade charting and before/after photo tooling are not specified on the pricing page.
Mangomint
Booking/POS core. Charting exists only via the paid Forms & Charting add-on ($50/mo). No e-prescribing published. Not a full EMR — no SOAP-grade clinical documentation, labs, or eRx advertised.
Beyond the sticker
Costs outside the headline price
Boulevard
Advertised prices are BOTH promotional AND annual-billing prices — the non-promo rates are $176 / $293 / $410 per location per month, and a 10% discount is tied to annual billing. Prices are PER LOCATION, so multi-site med spas multiply. Major paid add-ons on top of base: Forms "Starting $65 per month per location"; ePrescribe "$45 per prescriber, unlimited support staff"; QuickBooks integration "$45 per month per location". SMS marketing is metered — "Pay based on the number of texts you send and receive each month" with no published per-text rate. Email beyond the free allotment is "$0.01 per email". Essentials caps at 5 professionals, so a growing med spa is forced to Premier. Payment processing rates are not published anywhere on the pricing page.
Mangomint
Base price excludes the two modules a med spa actually needs. Forms & Charting is a $50/month add-on (+$25 per additional location) — this is the ONLY way to get clinical charting, so the real med spa entry price is $215/mo, not $165. Connect (call/text/chat) is $75/month (+$25/location). Payroll is $50/month + $8 per worker. Shopify integration $50/month on Standard (free on Unlimited). Additional locations cost $95 / $135 / $175 per month by tier. Marketing email and text are metered: "Pay as you go (1¢ per marketing credit)," with subscription bundles starting at $50/month. Extra Bluetooth card readers are $100/device. CRITICAL HIPAA GOTCHA: the Essentials tier does NOT include HIPAA compliance — BAA is available only on Standard and Unlimited, so a HIPAA-covered med spa cannot legally sit on the $165 plan. Offsetting positives, explicitly stated: no setup fees, no contracts, cancel anytime, free one-on-one onboarding, free standard data import.
How to decide
Two things settle most of it, and neither is the headline price. Whether you document treatments rules one of these in or out before cost matters at all — and once you have fixed your own location and staff counts, the numbers above move. Run both through the calculator rather than comparing sticker prices, then ask each vendor to demonstrate charting with your own treatment types and get the BAA in writing before you migrate any patient data.