MedSpaStack

Comparison

Boulevard vs Vagaro

Verified pricing and capability, read from each vendor's own published material. We do not score these out of ten — the right answer depends on whether you chart treatments and how your team is shaped.

Pricing last verified July 30, 2026 Rechecked weekly against each vendor's own pricing page. Method and disclosures.

These are not the same kind of product

Boulevard is a hybrid — a booking core with charting on higher tiers. Vagaro is a booking and POS system with no medical charting. Before comparing price, work out which category your practice needs — we sorted all 24 platforms on that axis. Choosing on price across this line is how practices end up paying for two systems.

Criterion Boulevard Hybrid Vagaro Booking / POS
Published price $140/mo $23.99/mo
Entry tier Essentials Vagaro subscription (single plan, scales by calendar count)
Billing basis per location, annual billing US base rate, described as a "limited time offer"
One-time setup fee None published None published
Free trial not stated on pricing page; demo request is the only CTA yes — "30 days, during which you have access to all Vagaro features except email marketing, text marketing & branded app"
Named tiers Essentials, Premier, Prestige, Enterprise Vagaro subscription (single plan, scales by calendar count)
Target segment single-location to multi-location salon-spa and med spa; leans premium salon/spa with clinical add-ons solo to multi-location salon-spa booking; very low entry price, weakest clinical depth of the med-spa-adjacent options
Payment processing Not published Tiered by merchant size: Small merchants 2.6%-3.5%, Large merchants 2.29%-3.5%, plus per-transaction fees of $0.10-$0.25; Large Merchant tier adds a $10/month subscription

What the numbers actually say

Read before you compare the headline prices

Each point below is computed from the published figures in the table above, for this pair specifically. Where the data does not support a conclusion, we say so rather than filling the space.

They swap places at 6 staff logins

Up to 5 staff logins, Vagaro is the cheaper of the two — $119.95/mo at that point. From 6 staff logins on, Boulevard takes over at $140/mo. That is the whole reason: Boulevard bills per location, Vagaro bills per user. Comparing their headline prices tells you nothing until you fix your own numbers.

Boulevard's $140 is a promotional rate

The standard published price is $176/mo — 26% higher. Ask what happens at renewal before you compare these on the promotional number.

Clinical capability

What each one does in the treatment room

Boulevard

Hybrid. Core product is booking/POS/CRM, but genuine clinical capability is available as paid add-ons: ePrescribe with "EPCS-compliant support for controlled or non-controlled prescriptions" ($45/prescriber) and Forms/charting (from $65/location). SOAP-note-grade charting and before/after photo tooling are not specified on the pricing page.

Vagaro

Booking/POS only. Forms are a $10/month add-on. No medical charting, no SOAP notes, no e-prescribing, and no before/after photo module published on vendor pricing pages. Not an EMR.

Beyond the sticker

Costs outside the headline price

Boulevard

Advertised prices are BOTH promotional AND annual-billing prices — the non-promo rates are $176 / $293 / $410 per location per month, and a 10% discount is tied to annual billing. Prices are PER LOCATION, so multi-site med spas multiply. Major paid add-ons on top of base: Forms "Starting $65 per month per location"; ePrescribe "$45 per prescriber, unlimited support staff"; QuickBooks integration "$45 per month per location". SMS marketing is metered — "Pay based on the number of texts you send and receive each month" with no published per-text rate. Email beyond the free allotment is "$0.01 per email". Essentials caps at 5 professionals, so a growing med spa is forced to Premier. Payment processing rates are not published anywhere on the pricing page.

Vagaro

The $23.99 headline covers ONE bookable calendar; each additional employee calendar is $10-$15/month up to 7 licenses. The add-on catalog is where the real bill forms: MySite website $20/month (US); Custom Website Design $299 one-time (US); Brand Package $500 one-time (US); Branded App $100/month (US) PLUS a one-time development fee; Forms $10/month; Check-In App $10/month; Connect AI $10/month; Vagaro Drive storage "Starting at $10/month"; Vagaro Payroll "$34/month plus $5/month per employee" (US only); Data Lake $40/month; APIs/Webhooks "Starting at $10". Text messaging runs on a tiered credit system from 1,000 credits/$20/month (US Small) up to 500,000 credits/$2,500/month (US Ultra). Email marketing is free only on the Small plan (1,000 credits); paid tiers run $10-$90/month. Large-merchant payment processing carries an additional $10/month subscription. Cancellation is genuinely free: "You can cancel your subscription at any time, for any reason—no questions asked, and no fee."

How to decide

Two things settle most of it, and neither is the headline price. Whether you document treatments rules one of these in or out before cost matters at all — and once you have fixed your own location and staff counts, the numbers above move. Run both through the calculator rather than comparing sticker prices, then ask each vendor to demonstrate charting with your own treatment types and get the BAA in writing before you migrate any patient data.